For individuals who follow vegetarian or vegan diets, all is not lost — getting DHA is possible. Algae is a primary source of DHA, and is used to make vegetarian DHA supplements. Ground flax seed, walnuts and chia seeds are other vegetarian sources of another omega-3 fatty acid, ALA, which the body converts into DHA. However, our bodies may convert only about 5 percent of ALA to DHA. If your primary intake of omega-3s comes from vegetables or non-oily fish, consider speaking to a registered dietitian nutritionist about supplementation.
Did you know most insurance has an annual allowance for Medical Nutrition Therapy (nutrition education and coaching with a Registered Dietitian-Nutritionist) and so often it goes unused? Call TODAY and as a courtesy we’ll check your insurance so you will know-in-advance exactly what your coverage is! 1-855-EAT-4LIFE